Friday, May 22, 2009

Is it Indian Premier League or South Indian Premier League?

Three teams out of this year's four semi-finalists in IPL are from South India.  Except Delhi Daredevils, all the other three teams in the SFs, i.e. Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Deccan Chargers Hyderabad are all from the three southern states of India viz., Tamil nadu, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh.

But, if we see who the owners of these four SF teams, then it becomes an out & out South Indian semi-finals in IPL 2.  Even the only non-southie team in SF, Delhi Daredevils, are owned by GMR Group, a leading contruction & airports management group from Hyderabad.  As we all know, the other three teams are owned by India Cements (of Chennai), United Brewery (of Bangalore) and Deccan Chronicle (of Hyderabad) groups, respectively.

So, IPL 2009, has become a sort of SIPL i.e. South Indian Premier League.  Hope in the first semi-finals taking place today, even the top-ranked Delhi team is beaten by Deccan Chargers  so that the IPL Trophy surely belongs to a South Indian team this year.

Looking forward to witness really competitive and interesting knock-out matches during the semi-finals & finals of SIPL.  Happy IPL week-end to all.

No comments: